Vintage Sky is the Limit Valentine

I am going to share with you my husband’s Valentines card for this year.  I know what you’re thinking…what if he sees it before you give it to him!  Well, let me assure you that won’t be happening as 1) I’d be surprised if he remembered that I have a blog and 2) he’s rarely on the internet and 3) if he is on the internet, he’s totally not searching for handstamped card ideas. 🙂

IMG_6499

I really liked this set that SU! brought to us for Sale-a-bration, I’m just sad it’s leaving so soon! This Sky is the Limit set is only available through tomorrow, free with any $50 and up purchase.  If you like it, you better step on it! haha

I wanted to give this card a vintage feel so I used two different browns (Crumb Cake and Early Espresso along with some gold (Gold Wink of Stella, Gold embossing and the button).  I’m really happy with the way it turned out in the end.

I used a fun technique to get the Crumb Cake block on the center of my Whisper White Cardstock.  I used an actual Stampin’ Up clear block, YES the one you typically mount stamps on.  But, this time I used it as my actual stamp!  Ink the block up carefully so that it looks covered but not extra ink-y or splotchy.  Once you are happy with the ink on the block.  Press onto your cardstock.  I prefer to use a Stampin’ Pierce Mat underneath my grid paper as a little “give” to allow the block to stamp correctly.

To add to the vintage look, I colored in my airplane with the Gold Wink of Stella Brush!  I just love the look these pens add to a project.  Also used it to brush hap-hazardly across my “You Send my Soaring” banner and colored in a few hearts from the background paper.  The airplane and the saying banner is popped up with dimensionals to give a more 3-D look.

Hope you enjoy!

Here’s what you’ll need:

141349 Sky is the Limit Clear Mount Stamp Set (FREE w/ order of $50 or more through 2/15/2016)

118486 Clear Block C ($7.00)

126975 Crumb Cake Classic Stampin’ Pad ($6.50)

126974 Early Espresso Classic Stampin’ Pad ($6.50)

100730 Whisper White Cardstock ($8.50)

120953 Crumb Cake Cardstock ($7.00)

140548 Love Blossoms Designer Series Stack ($8.00)

126199 Stampin’ Pierce Mat ($5.00)

141898 Gold Wink of Stella ($8.00)

109129 Gold Stampin’ Emboss Powder ($5.00)

102283 Versamark Pad ($7.50)

129053 Heat Tool ($30.00)

133763 Gold Basic Metal Buttons ($8.00)

104199 Thread Linen ($4.50)

104430 Stampin’ Dimensionals ($4.00)

 

Joyfully Yours,

Megan

Leave a Reply

